Competitive Horizon

Aug 11, 2014
Horizon (version 2014-08-20) - Our first attempt at a competitive 4v4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ur2UQzDWD-U
<Video showing off the map.

I apologize for the lack of structure. I'm new to this whole narrating thing and I haven't messed with theater in a while so I'm a bit of a choppy cameraman. I was also rushed to get the video out. Took me about two hours to get my cap card working and I needed to be in bed but wanted to get the video out, so I threw it together real fast. It'll give you a...

Read more about this map...

Auburn

#hawt
Jan 11, 2013
Missouri
'Sup man, welcome to HC.

When people ask me about spawning, I tell them to think of each respawn point as a static number; 1 for example. As more respawn points are placed within vicinity of each other, those numbers begin adding up and ultimately contribute to the "weighting" of that particular vicinity. For example, if I placed five respawn points on the lower level of Horizon and two on the upper level, the weighting would be 5 and 2 respectively. The higher the number, the higher the chance of a player spawning.

That's all pretty obvious, though (more respawns = higher chance of spawning). The reason for explaining them like that is because things get a little more complicated with respawns zones. A simple explanation is that respawn zones add an "automatic" weighting to the respawns within their radius. If I were to place an "anti-respawn" zone around the previously mentioned five respawn points, the weighting that those respawns accumulated would decrease by a certain increment. The same applies to other respawn zones, but their effects are all different. I don't know the exact number that each respawn zone increases/descreases the weight, but you could find all that stuff here.