Introduction Hi, I'm a Forger New To Halo Customs :)

BlackGamerGuy

Novice
Dec 15, 2014
FL
What's going on guys?
So, this is my first time joining a forum in eons. :titmar: I was actually directed here by Online Knights, Ducain23 and Mr Pokephile (all forgers whom I'm sure many of you have heard of). As for my name, you can just call me Jake or BlackGamerGuy-- either is fine.

The reason for joining this forum is I have been making Halo maps since Halo: Reach and I have always missed opportunities to play and share my maps with others. I primarily use YouTube as my platform of choice to showcase my creations; however, it's evident that scheduling custom games through this means is a haphazardous solution. So, here I am!

From the first map I created entitled "Interstate 4-51"-- a map that featured a part of a huge highway with a collapsed center (which is a pretty abysmal map now that I reflect upon it, haha) -- to my newest "ancient-themed-Forerunneresque" (God, what a mouthful :nomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnom:) Slayer map called Uproot, I have changed my way of thinking in relation to level design. For example, elements such as map depth, scale, accessibility, jumps, weapon placement, etc. (and the list goes on and on) are things that I've gradually started to consider when going through subsequent maps.

I have vastly improved as a forger but I still have MUCH more to learn since the last Halo game I frequently made maps for was Halo: Reach; Halo 4's forge didn't quite inspire me as much as I wanted it to. However, with the newly added features to H2A's forge, I'm back in business!

So, a little bit more about me:

I thoroughly enjoy action/adventure games, first-person shooters, fighting games, open-world RPGs :knight:, sandbox games and the like. Some of my favorite video games/franchises are as follows:
  • Super Smash Brothers
  • Halo :masterchief: