Map Preview A Picnic, Under Attack!

Psychoduck

Round Objects™
Dec 23, 2012
Greater Seattle Area
Yo dawg, I heard you like map previews so I made a map preview so you can preview maps while your maps get previewed. Seriously, though, I thought it was high time I hopped on the map preview bandwagon, it looks like all the cool kids are doing it. Since MCC came out, I've been working on a remake of Panic Attack. This map is designed from the ground up around competitive arena gameplay, but uses vehicles as an additional competitive element. So, I guess you could call it "arena BTB" or something like that. I've always seen warthogs as skill vehicles given that they require coordination between two players to be used effectively and that they require support from other players on foot, but that they can also provide support and turn the tide of the battle when used skillfully. That is the idea I've been designing maps around for a few years, and Panic Attack was the culmination of those years of experience.

Given the maps competitive arena roots, bringing it to Halo 2 Anniversary was a logical choice. Unfortunately, there were several obstacles to contend with. First is performance. I forged the map on all three canvases in H2A in an attempt to avoid framerate issues, finally settling on Awash. By replacing most of my colliseum walls with block 10x10s thanks to A Haunted Army's recommendation, I was able to avoid serious performance issues. I will be working to improve the visual theme of the map with a focus on player orientation while avoiding frame drops moving forward.